I’VE ARRIVED

It happened at 5:40am in Denver yesterday when I schlepped into McDonalds in 4 degree weather to score my morning coffee.  Without even asking, the cashier automatically gave me the senior discount!  I’ve arrived at the point in life that no matter what miracle cream I use or what lies my inner voice tells me when I look in the mirror about how “I still look like I’m in my late 30’s” – the gig was up.  That cashier had me red-handed.  If it wasn’t bad enough realizing that someone outside my head thought I looked like a senior, should I be flattered because their senior age is 55 and I’m 61?  Or insulted further because their senior age is 65 and I’m 61.  I was afraid to ask.

2014 Nancy Buffington

Leave a Reply

